2016 Scholarship Recipients

In 2016, the Fort Atkinson Community Foundation awarded a record 102 scholarships to 73 students. Of those 73, 46 were high school seniors, 13 were undergraduates, 10 were graduate students, and 4 were returning voc tech students.  The total amount awarded was a whopping $275,650.

Students earning financial support from the foundation range from outstanding high school seniors to dedicated graduate students to determined older adults going back to school to learn new skills and improve their credentials.

The Community Foundation’s Board of Directors would like to express their enormous gratitude to all the thoughtful and generous people who have created, or donated to, our scholarship funds. These investments in our citizens, made one person at a time, open up wonderful educational opportunities for our residents and lift our entire community. We love where we live.

Below are just some of the 2016 recipients. For a complete list, click here.

Lyndsay Gavin
$5,000 Buell Graduate Scholarship

2008 Fort graduate
Master's degree in public health
Yale University

Amy Flessert
$5,000 Buell Graduate Scholarship

2004 Fort graduate
Ph.D. in composition and rhetoric
Old Dominion University

Tyler Zaspel
$5,000 Make a Difference Scholarship

2014 Fort graduate
Bachelor's degree in education
UW-La Crosse

Lillian Cook
$2,500 Knapp Scholarship
$2,000 Vance Scholarship

2014 Fort graduate
Bachelor's degree in actuarial science
UW-Eau Claire


Hannah Schultz
$3,000 Buell Graduate Scholarship
$2,000 Medical Careers Scholarship

2010 Fort graduate
Pharmacy degree
Concordia University

Shalane Hundt
$3,900 Buell Graduate Scholarship

2011 Fort graduate
Dentistry degree
Marquette University 

Makenzie Foerster
$3,900 Buell Graduate Scholarship
$1,100 AAUW Knox Graduate Scholarship

2010 Fort graduate
Master's degree in kinesiology
Univ. of California-Chico State

Yana Rawinski
$4,000 Vance Scholarship
$3,000 Hake Engineering Scholarship

2014 Fort graduate
Bachelor's degree in biomedical engineering
Marquette University

Candice Sayre
$3,400 Buell Graduate Scholarship
$2,000 Harrison Education Scholarship

Fort resident
Graduate degree in educational leadership and administration for Principal and Director of Instruction licensure
Viterbo University

Fred and Helen Rose Inspire-a-Dream Scholarship recipients Isabel Bouton and Brendan Zember with presenter Helen Rose.

Theodore W. Batterman Family Foundation Scholarship recipients Samuel Westby, Jamie Engelke, Michaela Stelse, Evalise Yang, and Lacey Mehring - with presenter Anna Courtier

Olivia Hartwick
$1,800 Buell Graduate Scholarship

2010 Fort graduate
Ph.D. in Human Development
Auburn University

Alison Dailing
$2,000 Medical Careers Scholarship
$1,000 Schreiner Memorial Scholarship

2014 Fort graduate
Bachelor's degree in nursing

Megan Klubertanz
$$1,800 Hake Engineering Scholarship

2015 Fort graduate
Bachelor's degree in engineering

Walter and Louise Buell Merit Scholarship recipients Christina Smithyman and Amy Nguyen with Community Foundation Chairman Dean Brown.

Presenter Krista Meinert with the recipient of the Jake Meinert Voc Tech Memorial Scholarship, graduating senior Joseph Borchardt.

Cierra Essock
$1,000 Ben and Ada Hake Ag Scholarship

2013 Fort graduate
Bachelor's degree in dairy science and agricultural education
UW-River Falls


Melissa Kaashagen
$1,875 AAUW Second Chance Scholarship

Fort HealthCare employee
Associate's degree in nursing

Sara Rothberger
$1,000 Buell Graduate Scholarship

2008 Fort graduate
PhD. in kinesiology
Univ. of North Carolina-Greensboro