Five Fort students receive Batterman Scholarships

The Fort Atkinson Community Foundation recently presented $12,000 Theodore W. Batterman Family Foundation Scholarships to each of the following five 2020 graduates of Fort Atkinson High School – Emmigail Belzer, Maya Kish (pictured), Adam Ramirez, Joseph Stiemke, and Timothy Voelker.

Awarded on the basis of academic excellence, good character, and community service of a significant nature, these scholarships, are payable over the students’ four-year college careers.

The Theodore Batterman Family Foundation Scholarships are funded by an annual gift to the Fort Atkinson Community Foundation from the Batterman Foundation.

Mr. Batterman established the Spacesaver Corporation in Fort Atkinson in 1972.  At that time, the high-density movable shelving firm had seven employees and 10,000 square feet of manufacturing space in an old barn.  Today, Spacesaver is a industry leader, with hundreds of full-time employees offering innovative storage solutions to companies and organizations around the globe.

In support of the community that helped grow the company, the Batterman Foundation established this scholarship to provide financial assistance to promising students from Fort Atkinson High School.

To learn more about the 2020 scholarship recipients, click here.

For more information about the Batterman Scholarship, or any of the scholarships offered by the Fort Atkinson Community Foundation, contact their executive director Sue Hartwick at (920) 563-3210 (office), or via email at