2019 Karrels AP Computer Science Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to the 18 Fort Atkinson High School students who recently earned $1,000 Ed Karrels AP Computer Science Scholarships by completing the AP computer science class at Fort Atkinson High School and by scoring a 3 or higher on the AP computer science exam. 2019 recipients are December Bahling, Destiny Derks, Casey Ellis, Kensington Narkis, Adam Ramirez, Dalyn Reichert, Kailyn Schueller, Donovan Smith, Joseph Stiemke, Hunter Strohbusch, Christian Topel, Marco Unate, Timothy Voelker, Aidan Wagner, Evan Wendt, Hayden Zachgo, Cody Zahn, and Amelia Zanin.

Pictured here are 16 of the recipients at the Aug. 15th school board meeting with teacher and presenter Dean Johnson (first row, far right) and scholarship funder Ed Karrels (second row, far left). Our thanks to Ed for his ongoing generosity and to Dean for his good stewardship of the AP Computer Science program which he began at Fort high school. This was Dean’s last year presenting the awards as he retired at the end of the school year. We will miss him. (photo by Randall Dullum, courtesy of the Jefferson County Daily Union)