2015 Karrels Computer Science Scholarship recipients

FACF is proud to announce that 14 Fort Atkinson High School students were awarded the Foundation’s $1,000 Ed Karrels AP Computer Science Scholarship at the August 2015 School Board meeting.  They earned this award by successfully completing the computer science AP class at Fort Atkinson High School and also by passing the computer science AP test with a score of 3, 4, or 5.

This unique scholarship, established in October 2011, is funded by a gift to the Fort Atkinson Community Foundation by Edward Karrels, a former graduate of Fort Atkinson High School who parlayed his computer science degree into a rewarding career at Google. Mr. Karrels set up this scholarship to encourage Fort Atkinson students to explore the field of computer science.

Recipients, pictured left to right are: Front row – Computer Science teacher Aaron Chamberlain; recipients Megan Charland, Evalise Yang, Mikaela Stelse, and Anna Compas; and math teacher Dean Johnson. Back row – Scholarship benefactor Ed Karrels; and recipients Zavery Dickson, Kyle Harker, Alex Johnson, Brett Koenig, Jonah Cartwright, and Harry Bos.  Not pictured are Tyler Ault, Alec Redenbaugh, Nikolai Vechinsky, and Mary Wilson. – Photo by Daily Union reporter Randall Dullum.